Penumbral Eclipse (of the Heart)

Share this:

Set your eyes on the night sky tonight, February 10, for a triple treat!

 

 

What: Full “Snow” Moon
A full moon is required during any lunar eclipse.

Fun Fact: On average, February is the USA’s snowiest month so the naming of the “snow” moon is perfect!

 

What: Penumbral Lunar Eclipse
This phenomenon occurs when the moon moves through the outer part of the Earth’s shadow (known as the penumbra).

When: 6:43 p.m. CT (7:43 p.m. ET)

Where: The eclipse will be visible from Europe, Africa, western Asia and eastern North and South America

Fun Fact: About 35% of all eclipses are of the penumbral type!

 

What: Comet 45P

When: Saturday, February 11, Around 2:00 a.m. CT (3:00 a.m. ET)

Where: Watch for a bright blue-green “head” with a tail in the constellation Hercules. (Binoculars or a telescope could be helpful.)

Fun Fact: Comet 45P has been visible after sunset for the past couple months through binoculars and telescopes, but this will be its closes approach to Earth at 7.4 million miles away.

 

Learn more: http://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/sciencefair/2017/02/07/penumbral-lunar-eclipse-snow-moon-comet/97593778/

 

Are you planning to look for the lunar eclipse, or will you wake the kids up to see Comet 45P? Share with us in the comments below, and at @MindWareToys on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


MindWare Logo
  • MINDWARE BLOG - Brainy Toys for Kids of All Ages
  • © 2017 All Rights Reserved.